Why I Will No Longer Follow You On Facebook

joettacurrie

I like Facebook. I get up at 6:30-7ish every morning, make a pot of coffee and sit down to check in on friends, family, fellow artists and writers.

It’s early, and I’m not the kind of person who jumps out of bed ready to go. As my dad used to say, “I need time to sit and soak up the day,” to prepare myself for things to come. The sun is rising, it’s cool(er) and it is my opportunity to think, plan and get energized for the day.

Rant2Lately, my “soak” time has been harassed by a handful of people. Some, I know and like, some mere acquaintances and some folks I’ve never met before. They fling their political, religious and self-important opinions at me as I scroll down the page.

I don’t like it. What I prefer, is to see updates from friends and family, baby pictures, vacation photos, images of beautiful places, interesting/educational articles, helpful tips, latest creations by fellow artists and former…

View original post 236 more words

Leave a Reply

